Promoting excellence in mobility engineering

  1. About FISITA
  2. Media Centre

University of Western Australia win 2008 FISITA Formula SAE World Cup at Michigan International Speedway

19 May 2008

The University of Western Australia's Motorsport team has been crowned the 2008 World Champions for Formula SAE, having won the international competition for a student designed race car.

Started in 2006, the FISITA Formula SAE World Cup is an exciting global competition which brings together the winning teams from the various national Formula SAE competitions to compete against one another at the same event. The rules are based on those of SAE International's Formula SAE.

The 12-strong team, all UWA engineering students, edged out German teams from the University of Stuttgart and the Technical University of Munich, and more than 100 other teams, to win the competition held as part of Formula SAE at thin Michigan, USA, from 14-18 May.

"It's been a few years in the making, and a couple of times we've come really close," said UWA Motorsport project manager and UWA engineering student Gurkaran Bansal. "We really hope everyone involved with UWA Motorsport over the years feels they contributed to this success."

UWA Motorsport were presented with the FISITA World Cup along, with prize money of EUR 1,000 at an award ceremony on Sunday 18 May at the Michigan International Speedway site. The team scored total points of 865.6; followed in 2nd Place by the University of Stuttgart with 849.2 points and in 3rd the Technical University of Munich with 840 points.

The title passes from one Australian university to another, last year's World Cup winners being RMIT who won the competition at Silverstone in the UK. The RMIT team, attending the US event with the help sponsorship from FISITA, fought hard to retain the title and finished in 5th place overall.

The winning team from each eligible national competition automatically qualifies for a place in the FISITA World Cup competition. What's more, FISITA provides sponsorship of up to EUR 10,000 for each national winning team to take part in the World Cup event.

The next FISITA Formula SAE World Cup competition will be held as part of Formula SAE Australasia, organised by SAE-A in Melbourne in the last week of November.

The FISITA Formula SAE World Cup is one of several FISITA initiatives aimed at supporting students and young engineers. Others include the FISITA Student Congress, Travelling Fellowship Programme and Student Travel Bursaries. For more information visit:

2008 FISITA Formula SAE World Cup Results

1st place - University of Western Australia
2nd place - University of Stuttgart
3rd place - Technical University of Munich